Leave a comment

Kyrgyzstan ratifies EEU agreement

The president of Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambaev signed on Thursday the bill passed by the country’s parliament the day before to ratify the accession to the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU), RIA Novosti reported.

Last December an agreement was signed at the Supreme Eurasian Economic Board meeting in Moscow about Kyrgyzstan’s joining the EEU. Actual accession will be in place after ratification formalities are completed in all member states.

The Kyrgyzstani leader said the accession agreement was signed only after reasonable preferences were obtained. The accession to the EEU will give the local products access to an almost 200-million market, the president of Kyrgyzstan said.

According to the government of Kyrgyzstan, a poll found about 90% of the population favors the accession to the EEU.

The EEU is an international economic integration union created based on the Customs Union and the Single Economic Space on January 1, 2015. The EEU member states are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia. Kyrgyzstan will join the EEU on May 29.

Source: Arka News Agency


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: